The following foods are considered gluten free and SAFE:

  1. Grains free of gluten:
    • Rice flours – all types
    • Quinoa
    • Corn
    • Buckwheat
    • Millet
    • Amaranth
    • Sorghum
    • Montina
    • Teff
  2. Gluten free flours & starches:
    • Almond
    • Chestnut
    • Fava bean
    • Garbanzo (also called chickpea or “gram” flour)
    • Hazelnut
    • Coconut
    • Pea
    • Pecan
    • Romano
    • Garfava
    • Soy
    • Potato Flour
    • Potato Starch
    • Arrowroot
    • Tapioca

UNSAFE:

  1. All varieties of wheat
  2. All varieties and forms of barley including malted milk, candy, vinegars, and syrups
  3. Rye

NOTE: The use of oats in gluten free diets is controversial. The Gluten Intolerance Group, the Celiac Disease Foundation and the Canadian Celiac Association approve the use of moderate amounts of gluten free oats. Other organizations including the Celiac Sprue Association recommend that oats be avoided.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
If you enjoyed this article, please share it:
  • email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • StumbleUpon